Communicorp Wins Big at the Annual PPI Radio Awards

Category: News

Today FM Wins Full Service Station of the Year

Saturday 4th October – Communicorp, last night scooped almost 50% of the PPI Radio awards at the ceremony in Kilkenny. The volume of awards won by the radio group, demonstrated the organisations strength, quality and vision in the Irish market.

Commenting on the awards, Gervaise Slowey, Chief Executive Officer, Communicorp said, “We are absolutely thrilled to be awarded so many prestigious accolades across a range of categories. The awards are highly regarded within the industry, and its testament to the breath of talent and creativity across our radio stations.”

Ms Slowey continued, “We are particularly delighted that Today FM won the Full Service Station, as well as three gold awards. Newstalk also won four gold awards, and our new four month old station, TXFM brought home a gold award for New Irish Music/Musical Talent.”

Gold winners and categories included:

  • Today FM took home the prize of Full Service Station of the Year, with Newstalk achieving silver in the same category;
  • General Music Programme  – Dermot & Dave – 98fm Dermot Whelan and Dave Moore;
  • Breakfast Programme – Ian Dempsey Breakfast Show – Today FM   Ian Dempsey / Martin Maguire / Mario Rosenstock;
  • New Irish Music/Musical Talent – Hear and Now presents The Producers – Cathal Funge for TXFM 105.2;
  • Short Feature – Henry’s Baby – The Moncrieff Show – Newstalk 106-108fm  … Henry McKean / Sean Moncrieff;
  • Entertainment Inserts – Gift Grub – The Ian Dempsey Breakfast Show – Today FM – Ian Dempsey & Mario Rosenstock;
  • Innovation – Henry’s Baby – The Moncrieff Show – Sean Moncrieff / Henry McKean Newstalk 106-108fm;
  • Music Presenter of the Year – Dermot Whelan – 98FM;
  • Radio DJ – Steve K – Spin 103.8;
  • Sports Broadcaster of the Year – Joe Molloy – Newstalk 106-108fm;
  • Specialist Music Programme – SpinSouth West – coverage on community games in Limerick
  • On-Air Competition – iPaddy – Spin 103.8;


For Further Information contact:

Clíona Hayes on